As we find our footing in our new remote teaching, learning and working environments, questions and needs will arise. We’ve compiled a list of critical contacts for everything we can think of that you might need; please give us a shout if anything’s been overlooked.

For faculty and staff:

Technology assistance with remote delivery:
Social Sciences Computing Services (sscs@uci.edu)

Instructional assistance for remote courses (faculty coaches):
Student Engagement Strategies: Ian Straughn, Anthropology (ian.straughn@uci.edu)
Quizzes, Exams and Assessment Tips: Marek Kaminski, Political Science (mkaminsk@uci.edu)
Lecture Strategy and Production: Kristin Turney, Sociology (kristin.turney@uci.edu)
Adjusting Courses for Remote Success: Gustavo Oliveira, Global and International Studies (gustavo.oliveira@uci.edu)

Canvas support:
Canvas Support Hotline: 855-213-7130
Email: support@instructure.com
Live Text Chat: https://cases.canvaslms.com/liveagentchat?chattype=admin&sfid=001A000000YzBGWIA3

Course supplement assistance (videos, talks, etc):
Luis Fonseca, Communications and Marketing (lfonseca@uci.edu)

Purchasing:
Trish Fisher, Business Office (pfisher@uci.edu)

HR:
Natalie Cook (natcook@uci.edu)


For students

For questions about your specific courses, contact your instructor. Instructor names can be found on WebSoc. Then, do a search on UCI’s directory for your faculty member name to find her/his/their email.

Undergrads: For questions about courses and requirements, contact the Social Sciences Undergraduate Student Affairs Office via:

Live Chat: https://www.undergrad.socsci.uci.edu/chat 
Email:

Non-urgent questions may be emailed to socsci@uci.edu or email ONE advisor below:

Elizabeth Cervantes: ecervan3@uci.edu
Kurt Hessinger: kurt.hessinger@uci.edu
Chika Kono: ckono@uci.edu
Lisha Lei: llei3@uci.edu
Estela Magana: emagana@uci.edu
Sarah McDougall: smcdouga@uci.edu
Jasmine Pickering: pickerij@uci.edu
Advisors will work to respond quickly to all emails.


Grads: For questions about courses, requirements, funding and TA-ships, contact the Graduate Student Affairs Office via email:

Jennifer Gerson: jennifer.gerson@uci.edu
Gianna Virgilio: gianna@uci.edu 
Matt Arias: ariasm@uci.edu

For students who require services from the Disability Service Center (DSC) to access online materials, please make sure to contact DSC with time to help them identify your immediate needs. 

 

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766